Soul of the Wood

Director : Denis Dommel

Authors : Philippe MOREAU and Edith FARINE

Broadcasters : France Télévisions – Martinique 1ère / TV5 Monde

Distributor : Dynamo Production

Duration : 52′

If the public debate is focused on the new “gold diggers”, there are other gems in Guyana: the works of artists from West Guyana, which are rarely exhibited under the dim lights of museum installations.

The “Art Route” connects artists scattered throughout the West of this overseas region. They know nature by heart, they live, work and create from resources collected on roads, rivers and in the forest. Guyana offers a “raw” material that is both inspiring and nurturing for these artists who have been creating, some for 40 or 50 years, from materials like wood, metal, earth, fibers. They are of Hmong, Creole, Amerindian or Bushinengue origin.

The influences of these artists reveal the dynamics of society – in particular the Guyanese confluence of the Caribbean and Amazonian worlds – the successive migrations and the identity foundations of the cultural groups who live in this territory and intend to preserve their particularities.

L’Âme du Bois

Réalisateur : Denis DOMMEL

Auteurs : Philippe MOREAU et Edith FARINE

Diffuseurs : France Télévisions – Martinique 1ère / TV5 Monde

Distributeur : Dynamo Production

Durée : 52′

Si le débat public est concentré sur les nouveaux « chercheurs d’or », il existe en Guyane d’autres pépites : les œuvres des artistes de l’Ouest guyanais, qui ne s’exposent que rarement sous les lumières tamisées d’installations muséographiques.

La « Route de l’Art » relie les artistes disséminés dans l’Ouest de cette région d’Outremer. Ils connaissent la nature par cœur, ils vivent, travaillent et créent en forêt, au bord des routes et des fleuves. La Guyane offre une matière première « brute » à la fois inspirante et nourricière pour ces artistes qui créent, depuis 40 ou 50 ans pour certains d’entre eux, partir des matières premières locales : bois, métal, terre, fibres. Ils sont d’origine Hmong, Créole, Amérindienne ou Bushinengué.

Les influences de ces artistes disent, en creux, les dynamiques de société – notamment la confluence guyanaise des mondes Caribéens et Amazoniens – les migrations successives et les fondements identitaires des groupes culturels qui vivent sur ce territoire et entendent conserver leurs particularités.